Week 1

This is my first week of the figure training diet and workouts, and honestly it has not been that terrible.  I’m not sure if it’s the novelty of the program or the fact that I am a such a natural competitor (I kid, I kid), but I have actually felt pretty awesome. My energy is up, and my appetite has decreased with the all the protein, and I mean a LOT  of protein. Here is the diet I am following for the first 2 weeks:

Meal One: 1 cup Egg Whites, 55g oatbran
Meal Two: 28g oats ; 1 cup egg whites
Meal Three: 140g chicken; 120g of sweet or white potato
Meal Four: 168g tuna or chicken; 120 g sweet or white potato
Meal Five: 168g tuna with 1 cup green veggie of choice (no peas)
Meal Six: 120g lean ground beef or ground turkey (93%), 1 cup green veggie of
choice (no peas), 1/2c brown rice.

I honestly freaked out when I first saw it, but now I am getting used to it. The only things I really crave are chocolate, peanut butter, alcohol (a glass of Chianti, to be specific), cereal, peanut butter, bread, fruit, peanut butter, a big delicious beer, Skinny Dip yogurt, and oh did I mention peanut butter??

It seems pretty strict now, but according to my trainer, http://www.leighannyeager.com/, these foods will not be completely eliminated from my diet. These first 2 weeks are a “hazing process” to get my body used to the low carb/high protein world. Apparently it is working though, I have already dropped 3 pounds. I honestly thought I would gain weight. Along with the protein binge, I have done absolutely no cardio. That means no swimming, biking, or running….crazy right? Instead I am doing things like the 1 arm DB Snatch from hang:

 

These workouts are pretty intense. I have been hurting oh so good this week. Who knew one could become so sore from multiple reps of lunges, lifts and planks….but thus far I am loving it.  It is nice to have a new goal in my life that does not include running or biking for hours on end by myself. I think I am going to meet some pretty cool people through this training too….Leigh Ann already signed me for a blog where all her previous competitors post recipes and what not that helped them survive.

 One includes tuna, splenda, and Frank’s hot sauce….yummm

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

