The Good, the Bad and the Ugly

The Good: The past week or so I have been really loving my training. I love going to the gym with my ipod and jamming/working my ass off for an hour. I love the benefits of eating clean and not feeling like crap after a meal. And mostly I love hearing people tell me how good I look (wow….that sounds conceited but it’s the truth).  Seriously, what is the purpose in working for something if you can’t enjoy the benefits?? Today, for instance, I was getting ready for work at the gym and older lady approached me, “Well, I’m finally glad to see someone in those jeans who can actually pull off that style.”  Caught off guard, I smiled and asked what she meant exactly (I was wearing some old Target jeans and wasn’t sure if she was being sarcastic or not). “You know, I see so many young girls wearing those low cut jeans with the muffin tops hanging out, but you look good!” It wasn’t much but totally made my day- like I said, when you work hard, it’s GOOD to see the results 🙂

The Bad: Figure training is definitely not everyone (hell I still continue to wonder if it’s really for me or not). Yes, you will see awesome results if you stick with it, but that is the key point- you must stick with it.  The first few weeks seem pretty terrible- no junk food, no booze, soreness, extreme cravings.  After that,  it definitely gets easier, but it’s still work. For instance,  I was in training for work last week and faced some challenges with the diet. While most people enjoyed going out to eat, I was forced to bring my pre-measured meals. Since I really don’t give a shit of what people think  about what I eat (another requirement of figure training), it didn’t bother me to bring my own food. It does seem to bother others, however. I had quite a few people comment on the smell of my tuna with Frank’s or why I was eating a whole chicken breast when cookies were being passed around. Not everything is glamorous in figure training. You have to suffer through the BAD, to look so good 🙂

The Ugly:  As I probably mentioned before, I eat a shit ton of protein.  The normal recommended protein consumption is 0.8g/kg body weight. I am currently consuming about 2g/kg (if not more- this was some rough guestimating).  With all this extra protein consumption,  it is very important to stay well hydrated. Why?? Well, when the body consumes too much protein it converts the excess amino acids into urea which is excreted through urine and sweat.  So along with eating lots of protein, I also have to take lots of pee breaks. As you can imagine, this isn’t great on the kidneys which is why I don’t think it’s healthy to invest in this type of diet permanently . So there you have it,  you might get really pissed off when training to look GOOD 🙂

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

