You Are What You Eat…

I realize I have been blogging quite a bit this week, but I’ve had a lot on my mind. Not really- just two of my passions, sleeping and eating. I’ve been doing pretty good with both lately, but I want more.  The diet is fine- my chocolate/alcohol/peanut butter cravings have subsided- I just want more of the clean food, especially meat.  So yes, I have been thinking about meat a lot lately.  Steaks,  burgers, meat pizza, anything wrapped in bacon….these are my newest cravings.  I want tomorrow’s cheat meal to look something like this…

Mmm…enough about my diet though. It’s working for me, so I want to talk about the rest of the world.  People ask me about food and working out, and I get a lot of comments like these:

  • “You workout everyday, so you can eat whatever you want”: WRONG- Unless you’re burning calories like Michael Phelps or have super awesome genes, then diet is still very important. In fact, for weight loss or figure training, it’s equally  important to working out.  I’m not saying you should go and try to starve yourself (I eat ~1800 calories a day over a course of 6 meals), but you should definitely watch what you eat if you’re striving to lose weight or tone up. Exercise definitely helps, but it will only take you so far.
  • “I don’t have time to workout”: WRONG- Please, please, please don’t use this excuse. You don’t want to workout? Fine, I can believe and respect that. There are days when I am tired and busy and don’t want to workout. Insufficient time is an excuse. Do you ever watch TV, complain about your day, browse the Internet?? If yes, then you have time to workout. You can get an OK workout in 15 minutes, moderate in 30 and an intense calorie burn in an hour. Pushups, squat jumps, planks, situps- hell you can do all these at home without even using equipment.
  • “I don’t have time to eat healthy”: WRONG- I thought about this the other day when I forgot to pack my tuna dish. I stopped at the gas station, and guess what I found?? Tuna snack pack and apple- the perfect on the go meal. So again, there are convenient healthy foods, just maybe not what you want to eat.

There you have it- if the wino/chocoholic/peanut butter fiend can find a way to eat healthy, then anyone can. You just have to WANT it.

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

