Triathlon vs Figure Competition

A man asked me last week at the gym asked me what type of training I was doing. He said it seemed very disciplined and asked if I was competing in a triathlon. I just shook my head and told him figure competition. At first, I thought it was kinda funny that he assumed triathlon, but after thinking about it, I guess the two are pretty similar. Both require intense training, strong mental and physical focus and a desire to compete. Of course, now that I am getting pretty close to my figure competition deadline, I am also noticing some EXTREME differences. Take a look at the checklist for prepping for a triathlon vs figure competition…

Triathlon                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                          

  • Tri suit
  • Wetsuit
  • Running shoes
  • Cycling shoes
  • Bike
  • Helmet
  • Sunglasses
  • Goggles
  • Towel
  • Race Belt
  • USAT card
  • PAM (for easy removal of wetsuit)
  • Anti-chaffing cream
  • Gu gels

 

Figure Competition

  • Figure Bikini
  • Stripper heels
  • Mirror
  • Jewelry
  • Hairspray
  • Makeup
  • Butt glue
  • NPC card
  • Body oil
  • Hair clips
  • Curling iron/Flat iron
  • Food (tuna, chicken, etc in tupperware containers)

Yeah….they are a little bit different. Of course, I used to hate the body markings for triathlons. Now I have upgraded to 3 coats of spray tan that supposedly smells like ass. Buuut before you go away thinking that tri’s are more badass than figure competition, listen to this. If I was prepping for another half ironman, I would be nearing my race taper (2 weeks prior to the race where you do light conditioning and training and carb up).  Figure competitions are the exact opposite- my training has increased, and carbs have decreased. (I’m not even allowed diet sodas or my SF pancake syrup!)

So yeah, check it- I think my badassness has definitely reached a new high 😉

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

