What I am doing now….

I have decided that I really want to participate in Tri-Fitness Worlds May 2012. I am thirsty to compete again, but I want something where I can display my athletic skills and not just feel like a pageant contestant. I worked my ass off at States and was not exactly content with my 5th placing.

From what I have seen, WTF tends to favor a leaner physique, and that is what I am. Building muscle is not exactly easy for me, and I refuse to take any sketch steroids or supplements. I have been chowing down, lifting heavy and adding as much thickness as I can. I know I should probably have a more stringent training plan, but I currently have a government regulated schedule at work so that takes priority. Here is a small sample of my current diet and workout regime:

Diet:

Breakfast: 2 slices Ezekial bread  stuffed French toast cooked with 1/3 cup egg whites, splash Almond milk, Stevia Vanilla sweetener. Filing- ½ cup Greek yogurt mixed with pb2 and 1 scoop chocolate PB whey protein

Snack: Apple and 1 cup Greek Yogurt mixed with SF vanilla yogurt and blueberries.

Lunch: Polenta with cooked veggies and shrimp (http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10100347996484169.2595804.11800250&type=3#!/photo.php?fbid=10100348007517059&set=a.10100347996484169.2595804.11800250&type=3&theater

Snack: Large salad with chicken breast, black beans, dried fruit and nuts, topped with balsamic

Post workout: sweet potato and whey protein shake with flaxseed

Dinner: Neomandes platter with Tuna salad, tabouli, fatoush and pita bread

….. I also munch on dried nuts and fruits and PB throughout the day. All in all, I consume about 2400-2500 calories.

Workout:

WU: 10 min jog (I know cardio is frowned upon in figure but I still occasionally miss the runner’s high….)

3 sets each:

  • 12 Stepups (each side) with 15 lb DB in each hand
  • Military press x20
  • T-pushups with 10 lb DB x8 each side
  • 60 lb barbell hip thrusts x15
  • 60 lb deadlift x15
  • 20” box jumps x15
  • Full situps on stability ball x15
  • Plank thrusts x15
  • Lateral jumps/sprint backward x15
  • Weighted rows with 20 lb DB in plank position x15

As you can see, I have been doing more full body workouts. It may not be as effective as segregated body part days  (though I personally don’t see the difference) but for me, it’s fun and keeps me engaged. I have 2 more months to enjoy workout/diet ‘freedom’ then it is ON. I know the WTF has some stiff competition, but rest assured, I won’t go down without a fight

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I am doing now….

  1. Go for it baby! I love you!!

Leave a Reply

