Insomnia

I am writing this post because I have been awake for 4 hours now and have officially given up trying to get any more sleep for the day. Not to mention I haven’t blogged in a hot minute, so I feel the need to update my current fitness (or lack thereof :)) status.

So my previous fitness achievement (or so I thought) was the TriFitness Challenge. Like I said in my WTF post the event itself was awesome, but looking back now, I realize I was not. I was very consumed with my look instead of my health. I was drained- physically, emotionally and spiritually. And even though I achieved the weight I wanted at the time and was receiving compliments out the ass on my LOOK, I was not happy or confident. Honestly, I was miserable. I was not the rock star or fitness expert I wanted to make everyone believe I had become. I was struggling in every aspect of my life and counting down the seconds for my next meal.

Now I sit here- sleep deprived,  but happy, confident and stronger. I am 15 pounds heavier. Yes, FIFTEEN. I probably would have murdered myself if you had told me I was going to be this weight 6 months ago. But guess what? I am so much healthier and actually love my body now. Sure, It would be nice to lose a few L B’s but I don’t worry about it anymore. I am productive, work like a horse (on Thursday I pulled a 13 hr work day wearing a PAPR and jump suit and then busted out a killer leg workout at the gym), and best of all, feeling like I am doing shit with my life.

OHH and most importantly,  I achieved a REAL fitness goal (not looking/trying to be a dumbass model). I PR’d and broke 2 hours on my half marathon time this past weekend. (Yeah I am not that fast).But I was extremely proud, considering I had been off the endurance horse for 2 years and only trained 3-4 months for it.

So what’s next?? I am not sure. Maybe become a certified yogi?? LOL

Image

About jibrantl

I am an endurance racer, figure competitor and health food enthusiast. I have done everything from the Jungle Marathon to the Tri-Fitness World Challenge. I love staying active, cooking wholesome meals and sharing my passion with others!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Insomnia

  1. ryan says:

    I’m glad to read this article. I read an article about you on Bodybuilding.com and was sad to hear you stopped doing triathlons for figure shows. Triathlon is a real sport where you can reduce your time and improve your performance objectively. Bodybuilding is a subjective show, not really a sport, and causes people to do really unhealth things. I’m glad to hear you are back to running and increased your weight to a healthy level!

Leave a Reply

